Libri

I read books.

Overdue Books

on January 3, 2013

So I have not reviewed any books lately, but I HAVE been reading!

Since my last post:

Mere Christianity (again) by C.S. Lewis – my go-to argument for why I am a Christian, even on days when my doubts overwhelm me like the tide. How can Jesus be anything but God? And why do we always default to “that’s not fair” if there is no standard outside ourselves to which we refer? Even die-hard atheists have a hard time coping with that one. Yay for Jack Lewis.

No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency – Alexander McCall Smith – fun, easy read about a clever woman in Botswana who sets up her own business and solves everyday mysteries using common sense. First in a series,  of which I intend to read more.

Clifton Chronicles 1 & 2: Only Time will Tell and Sins of the Father  by Jeffrey Archer – I loved these! Can’t wait for the third book to come out so I can find out who gets the money and who gets the girl…Set in the early part of the 20th Century in England, you’ve got your boarding schools, your class system, your labor law problems, and a good bunch of back stories that all weave together in surprising ways. Fast reading but surprising well developed story and characters. Recommended.

Standing Under the Rainbow by Fannie Flagg – this starts out lighthearted and fun but turns pretty melancholy toward the end. The characters are endearing, but I found myself getting a little depressed as the hero grows from his happy boyhood as the son of a homemaker/radio announcer and ends up old and sad! I think this one connected too many memories of my own small town life to be a favorite.

To be continued…

Leave a Reply

